[Home Page] [Contact Us]

Line Up

The members of Arish Mel play:
Melodeons, Fiddle, Guitar, Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Recorders, Djembe, Cabassa, Tambourine, Lemon!

We work with several excellent local Dorset Callers
We provide our own PA system

All the band members have been playing for English Traditional Dance for many years.
We are all dancers as well – which shows in our music!

The Name
Arish Mel is a beautiful bay nestling in a gap in the Chalk cliffs between Lulworth Cove and Kimmeridge Bay
Famous for centuries as a navigational landmark used by sailors to avoid the dangerous Kimmeridge Ledges
It is nowadays in the heart of the Lulworth Tank Ranges
It just happened to be the nearest bit of Dorset’s Jurassic Coast to our first ever Arish Mel Gig!

Bookings in 2017

Friday 10th February –Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller Graham Taylor – interval songs from Ian May

Saturday 18th February – Poole Yacht Club – caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Saturday 11th March – Birthday Party – caller: Teresa Rabbetts
Saturday 18th March – Bourne River Ceilidh - Broadstone Memorial Hall, Tudor Rd, Broadstone BH18 8AW – caller Michael Catovsky

Friday 24th March - Piddle Valley Barn Dance – Piddle Valley First School, Piddletrenthide DT2 7QL – caller: Teresa Rabbetts
Friday 14th April –Kimmeridge Keilidh in the New Hall at The Etches Collection, Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – caller Sue Perigo – interval spot from Robin Plowman

Saturday 3rd June – Bridport Ceilidh – caller: Simon Maplesden

Saturday 18th August – Birthday Party – caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Sunday 17th September – Smedmore House Open Day – Kimmeridge BH20 5PE – music from 12.00 to 2.00 – entry to house & gardens: £5

Friday 29th September – Durweston Charity Barn Dance - Durweston Village Hall DT11 0QA – caller: Teresa Rabbetts – 7.30pm

Saturday 28th October – Swanage Twinning Association Barn Dance – Harman’s Cross Village Hall BH19 3EB– caller: Teresa Rabbetts – tickets in advance only from 01929 422785 – includes food – 7.30 to 11pm

Friday 24th November - Piddle Valley Barn Dance – Piddle Valley First School, Piddletrenthide DT2 7QL – caller:Teresa Rabbetts – 7.30pm


Friday 2nd February 2018 – Shillingstone Barn Dance Club – 7.30pm Portman Hall, Blandford Rd. Shillingstone DT11 0SF – Caller: Teresa Rabbetts

Saturday 17th March 2018 – Poole Yacht Club